Print this page | Franšais

Teach in Ontario

Welcome

This section provides information about the occasional teaching role.

If you are a new Ontario teacher, this will most likely be your first teaching role.

The Occasional Teaching Role

The role of an occasional teacher is a unique and challenging one. As an occasional teacher, you may have to scramble each morning to prepare for another new teaching experience. You may arrive at another new school to face students who are inclined to test you. On occasion, you may have to respond in a timely and efficient manner to unusual or unpleasant situations in the classroom.

On the other hand, each new occasional teaching experience offers a host of opportunities as well. This unique role provides a number of occasions to develop and employ best practices in a variety of situations. Each new assignment also provides an opportunity to showcase your enthusiasm, creativity and competence in the classroom; to build a network of administrators, department heads and teachers who appreciate the value you bring to the school.

The keys to successful occasional teaching are information, organization and adaptability. This site offers some practical advice and suggestions intended to support you as you begin your journey as an occasional teacher.

Know Your Employer
webcast

View our video webcast for helpful information about occasional teaching.

Imprimer cette page | English

Enseigner en Ontario

Bienvenue

Cette section renferme des renseignements sur le rôle de la suppléance. Si vous faites nouvellement partie du personnel enseignant de l’Ontario, la suppléance sera vraisemblablement votre première expérience.

Le rôle de la suppléance

Le rôle de la suppléance est exceptionnel et stimulant. Occuper un poste de suppléance peut obliger le personnel enseignant; à se préparer avec empressement chaque matin à une nouvelle expérience d’enseignement; à se présenter à une nouvelle école devant des élèves prêts à le mettre à l’épreuve; ou régler à l’occasion des situations inhabituelles ou désagréables, de manière ponctuelle et efficace.

D’un autre côté, chaque nouvelle expérience d’enseignement en suppléance présente une foule d’occasions favorables. Cette fonction particulière offre un bon nombre d’occasions de mettre en application ou de développer des pratiques d’excellence, dans diverses situations. Toute nouvelle affectation permet de montrer son enthousiasme, sa créativité et ses compétences en classe et de se constituer un réseau composé d’administrateurs, de chefs de service et d’enseignants qui reconnaissent la valeur qu’apporte le personnel suppléant à l’école. Enfin, la clé du succès en suppléance repose sur l’information, l’organisation et l’adaptabilité.

Ce site Web présente quelques conseils pratiques qui visent à soutenir le personnel débutant en suppléance.

Connaître l’employeur
webcast

La vidéo vous présente la clé de la réussite en suppléance. (en anglais seulement)