Print this page | Français

Building Relationships with Students

Teach in Ontario

Education research shows that strong student-teacher relationships positively affect student motivation and achievement, and result in lower dropout rates. Building relationships with your students is a process that begins on the first day of school. When your students arrive at your classroom for the first time, they should be welcomed warmly into a pleasant, comfortable and functional classroom. Resources and materials in the classroom should address a variety of interests. This will arouse the students’ curiosity about their new classroom and their new teacher.

Student curiosity about their new teacher is easily addressed by letting your students know who you are as a teacher. Students should learn that you:

Get to know who they are. In addition to learning about your students academically, it is important to make an effort to learn about their interests, dreams and goals. When you take the time to chat about things that interest a student, you are demonstrating that you value and care about that student.

You, as the teacher, are responsible for building and maintaining the teacher-student relationship. You are also responsible for maintaining the professional nature of the relationship and for establishing the boundaries. Students need consistency, fairness and clearly defined expectations to guide their behaviour in the relationship.

Establishing Classroom Expectations

It is important to establish classroom expectations early in the year, and it is equally important that students participate in this activity. Students who have contributed to the development of classroom expectations will feel more responsibility to uphold those expectations.

Perhaps you could begin by asking students to work in small groups to define the behaviours that annoy them in classrooms. Then, as a large group, work to reach consensus about the behaviours that everyone can agree upon as most annoying. To establish classroom expectations, the students can create an agreement for classroom behaviour that addresses these annoying behaviours. It is important to express these expectations in positive language. For example, expectations should be worded:

Without a disciplined classroom, learning cannot occur. When students believe in the classroom expectations, and positive student-teacher relationships are in place, behaviour issues will be less likely to occur. The effort required to establish respectful, supportive relationships is well worth expending. You will find that you spend far more time engaged in teaching and learning than addressing classroom management issues.

Previous Section
Instructional Strategies

Imprimer cette page | English

Relations avec les élèves

Teach in Ontario

Une recherche en éducation démontre que de solides relations élève/enseignant influencent positivement la motivation et les réalisations d’un élève, en plus de diminuer le taux de décrochage. Bâtir des relations avec les élèves est un processus qui commence dès le premier jour à l’école. Lorsque les élèves arrivent en classe pour la première fois, l’enseignant devrait les accueillir chaleureusement dans une classe invitante, fonctionnelle et où il fait bon vivre. Les ressources et le matériel de la classe doivent représenter une diversité de champs d’intérêt, de sorte à convenir au plus grand nombre. Cela éveillera la curiosité des élèves concernant leur nouvelle classe et leur nouvel enseignant.

La curiosité d’un élève pour son nouvel enseignant s’éveillera facilement si ce dernier se laisse connaître comme enseignant. Les élèves devraient voir en lui :

L’enseignant doit apprendre à connaître ses élèves. En plus d’apprendre à les connaître sur le plan scolaire, il est important de connaître leurs intérêts, leurs rêves et leurs buts. Si l’enseignant prend le temps d’aborder des sujets qui les intéressent, il leur montre qu’il se soucie d’eux et qu’il leur accorde de la valeur.

En tant qu’enseignante ou enseignant, vous êtes responsable de bâtir et de maintenir une bonne relation avec les élèves. Vous êtes aussi responsable de maintenir la nature professionnelle de vos relations et d’établir des limites à respecter. Les élèves ont besoin de constance, d’honnêteté et d’attentes clairement définies pour orienter leur comportement dans la relation.

Établir les attentes de la classe

Il est important de fixer les attentes de la classe, dès le début de l’année scolaire. Mais il est tout aussi important de faire participer les élèves à cette activité, car ceux et celles qui y auront participé se sentiront plus disposés à en respecter les attentes.

Par exemple, vous pourriez commencer en demandant aux élèves de travailler en petits groupes afin de définir les comportements qui les dérangent en classe. Ensuite, vous pourriez chercher à obtenir un consensus en grand groupe, afin que les élèves s’entendent sur les comportements les plus dérangeants. Puis, ils pourraient créer une entente de comportement qui précise ce qui les dérange. N’oubliez pas de les aider à exprimer leurs attentes dans un langage positif. Par exemple, les attentes pourraient être formulées ainsi :

Sans discipline en classe, l’apprentissage se fait difficilement. Lorsque les élèves adhèrent aux attentes de la classe et que la relation entre les élèves et l’enseignant est établie, les problèmes de comportement sont moins fréquents. Il vaut donc la peine de faire l’effort nécessaire pour établir une relation de respect et de soutien. Vous constaterez ainsi que vous passez beaucoup plus de temps à enseigner qu’à régler des problèmes en classe.

Section précédente
Stratégies d’enseignement