Print this page | Franšais

Assessment

Teach in Ontario

Traditionally, assessment meant tests and exams at the end of a unit. Students were given one opportunity to demonstrate learning and received a grade or a mark based upon their ability to complete the assessment successfully. Ideally, assessment should inform your instruction. It should give you and your students a clear understanding about what they understand and what gaps in their knowledge still exist. Armed with this information, you and your students are able to make informed decisions about next steps for learning.

Traditional assessment is called summative assessment or assessment of learning. Summative assessment usually occurs as a test or exam at the end of a unit or course of study, or takes the form of standardized tests, such as the EQAO assessments for grades 3, 6, 9 and 10. Summative assessments are useful in evaluating programs, curriculum, or student placement, but do not provide timely information about student achievement at the classroom level that can used to adjust instruction. Formative assessment is required to meet this need.

Formative assessment is assessment for learning. It must be part of the instructional process. Formative assessment is assessment that occurs regularly throughout a unit or a course of study. It can be formal (such as a quiz) or informal (such as observation), and it provides information about students' understanding of the material. When practiced regularly, it provides timely information that drives instruction. If there are gaps in some students' understanding, this can be addressed and corrected immediately. Formative assessment should be thought of as a form of coaching. Consider the basketball coach teaching a new skill to a group of students. An effective coach provides:

This consistent assessment, followed by clearly defined next steps, ensures that the student understands the gains made and is able to concentrate on the next step. This results in improved student achievement. This same process can be found in music and art classrooms. This is formative assessment. This process is equally successful in other subject areas and is an important aspect of effective teaching.

Regular assessment of students that is used to drive instruction can be accomplished in a number of ways:

These are just a few examples of formative assessment strategies that will provide you with information that will inform your instruction. Please check in the Helpful Resources section for more sources of information about assessment.

Another important aspect of formative assessment that must be in place to ensure effectiveness is student involvement in the assessment process. Students must have a clear understanding of expectations and must have contributed to the development of the goals and assessment criteria for the assignment. When they have been involved in the development of assessment criteria, they are better able to take some responsibility for their own understanding through self-assessment and reflection. Students can also provide important information and feedback as peer assessors.

In any discussion about assessment, diagnostic assessment must not be forgotten. Diagnostic assessment occurs at the beginning of the teaching and learning cycle. It provides important information about prior learning, ability level and needs that the students bring to this new learning opportunity. This information is used to:

Diagnostic assessment information can be gained through formal or informal means. Formal diagnostic assessment usually involves tests, quizzes, pre-tests or formal assessment tools. Informal assessment can be gained through examination of on-going work (homework assignments, classroom practice, journal entries, etc.), effective questioning techniques to determine depth of understanding of a concept or assignments designed to target certain skills. The information gained in diagnostic assessment should be used to design instruction that addresses the ability levels of your students.

Effective teachers recognize the importance of assessment as a diagnostic tool, an instrument to drive instruction and an opportunity to gage student achievement. The needs of all students cannot be met without using assessment on a regular basis to inform your instruction.

Previous Section
Sample Lessons

Imprimer cette page | English

Évaluation

Teach in Ontario

De manière traditionnelle, l’évaluation comporte des tests et des examens à la fin d’une étape. Les élèves ont alors l’occasion de démontrer leurs connaissances, après quoi ils obtiennent une note ou un rang basé sur la réussite de leur évaluation. C’est ce qu’on appelle l’évaluation des connaissances, laquelle est complétée lorsque l’enseignement et l’apprentissage sont terminés. Idéalement, l’évaluation doit mesurer les connaissances et informer l’enseignant de la compréhension des élèves face à l’apprentissage. De plus, elle sert à souligner les écarts à combler, s’il y en a. Munis de ces informations, l’enseignant et les élèves sont donc en mesure de prendre des décisions éclairées pour progresser.

Ce type d’évaluation est appelée l’évaluation sommative. Elle se présente sous forme de test ou d’examen à la fin d’une étape ou d’un cours. Elle peut aussi prendre la forme de tests normalisés, telles les évaluations de l’OQRE (Office de la qualité et de la responsabilité en éducation), présentés aux élèves des niveaux 3, 6, 9 et 10. Les évaluations sommatives sont utiles pour évaluer des programmes, des curriculums ou le placement d’un élève, mais elles ne permettent pas d’évaluer son rendement scolaire par rapport à la classe, à un moment suffisamment opportun pour adapter l’enseignement. C’est plutôt l’évaluation formative qui satisfait ce besoin.

L’évaluation formative est une évaluation axée sur l’apprentissage. Elle fait partie du processus d’enseignement et les élèves s’y soumettent régulièrement pendant une étape ou un cours. Elle peut être formelle (interrogation écrite) ou informelle (observation) et elle fournit des renseignements concernant la compréhension d’un élève par rapport à l’enseignement qu’il reçoit. Soumise régulièrement, elle permet de recueillir de l’information à temps pour adapter l’enseignement. Si certains élèves éprouvent des difficultés de compréhension, l’enseignant peut redresser la situation immédiatement. L’évaluation formative doit être enseignée sous forme d’assistance professionnelle, comme un entraîneur de basketball enseigne une nouvelle habileté à un groupe d’élèves. Un entraîneur efficace :

Cette évaluation cohérente, suivie d’objectifs clairement définis, permet à l’élève de comprendre les gains acquis et de se concentrer sur les étapes subséquentes. Cela a pour résultat d’améliorer le rendement scolaire. Ce même processus se retrouve dans les cours de musique et de dessin. Voilà ce qu’on appelle l’évaluation formative. Ce processus réussit également dans d’autres domaines et constitue un aspect important de l’enseignement efficace.

L’évaluation des élèves, effectuée de façon régulière et utilisée pour adapter l’enseignement, peut se concrétiser de différentes façons :

Ce ne sont ici que quelques exemples de stratégie d’évaluation formative qui vous aideront à adapter votre enseignement. Nous vous invitons à consulter la section des ressources utiles pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur ce sujet.

Un autre aspect important consiste à faire participer l’élève dans le processus d’évaluation, afin d’assurer l’efficacité de l’évaluation formative. En effet, les élèves doivent avoir contribué au développement des objectifs et des critères d’évaluation pour bien comprendre le but d’un devoir. Lorsqu’ils participent à la définition des critères d’évaluation, ils sont mieux placés pour prendre la responsabilité de bien comprendre l’auto-évaluation et la réflexion. Ils peuvent aussi fournir des renseignements importants en tant qu’évaluateurs de leurs pairs.

Pour toute discussion d’évaluation, il ne faut pas oublier l’évaluation du talent, laquelle prend forme au début de l’enseignement et du cycle d’apprentissage. Elle fournit d’importants renseignements au sujet des acquis, du niveau de compétence et des besoins que présentent les élèves face à cette nouvelle occasion d’apprentissage. Ces renseignements serviront à :

L’évaluation du talent peut être effectuée par des moyens formels ou informels. Elle comprend notamment des tests, des questionnaires, des pré-tests ou des outils formels d’évaluation. L’évaluation informelle, quant à elle, peut être obtenue par le moyen d’observation du travail en action (devoirs à la maison, pratique en classe, tenue d’un journal de bord, etc.), des techniques efficaces de questionnement visant à déterminer le niveau de connaissances d’un concept ou encore des devoirs visant à acquérir certaines habiletés. Les renseignements obtenus par ce type d’évaluation devraient être utilisés pour ajuster l’enseignement aux niveaux d’habileté des élèves.

Les enseignants efficaces reconnaissent l’importance de l’évaluation comme outil diagnostique, un instrument qui permet d’adapter l’enseignement et d’évaluer le rendement scolaire. Dans le cadre de l’enseignement, les besoins des élèves ne peuvent être tous satisfaits sans utiliser ce type d’évaluation sur une base régulière.

Section précédente
Exemple de leçons