Print this page | Franšais

Sample Lessons

Teach in Ontario

Grade 6 Data Management Activity

Mr. Scott's class is working on a data management exercise. The students have been told to collect data on their classmates' favourite games, display the data in a bar graph and make a prediction about whether this data is representative of the entire school.

Mr. Singh's class is working on a similar activity, but he has integrated into the activity different levels of difficulty, a variety of options for work groups, choices that meet the interests of his students and options for demonstrating knowledge.

For the group of students in his class who have a difficult time working with large numbers and a lot of data, Mr. Singh has designed an activity with manageable data. They are required to survey students in the class to find the students' favourite dessert, athletic shoe company or sport. They may work independently or in small groups. They must choose the most appropriate type of graph on which to display this data. They are also required to make a prediction about whether this data is representative of the entire school, and explain their reasoning. The report of their findings may take the form of a presentation, a written report or a short debate.

Another activity has been designed to challenge those students more able to work with large data sets and a number of variables. Those who choose this activity are asked to study a baseball player's career hitting statistics or a basketball player's career shooting statistics and create a graph displaying the statistics over time. Students may work individually, in pairs or in small groups. The students must also make a prediction about the player's probability of success in the next season. This prediction must be supported with evidence of reasoning and consideration of factors that affect the statistics. The report may take the form of a written document, a broadcast discussion by a group of sports analysts, a visual representation or a presentation.

In each of the activities, students are given choices to meet their ability level, their preferred working style, their interests and their learning style. All students are working on the same expectation and all students are able to participate in class discussions about the findings.

Grade 11 English Activity

Mrs. Khan's Grade 11 students are working with short stories. Mrs. Khan has designed activities based on the choice made by the main character in the short story when faced with a moral dilemma. Her students demonstrate a variety of learning styles, ability levels and interests. She has taken all of these differences into account when designing the activities. She is offering two activity choices to her class.

The first activity asks that students identify the moral dilemma faced by the main character in the short story. Students choosing this activity must explain the dilemma and how the choice made by the character affected the rest of the story. Those choosing this activity must also explain how the character traits of the main character contributed to the choice he/she made and provide proof of these traits. Demonstration of learning may take the form of a presentation, a written report or an artistic representation of their knowledge.

The second activity also involves identification of the moral dilemma faced by the main character, the character traits that lead to the main character's decision in the face of this dilemma and the effect this choice had on the rest of the story. In addition, students are asked to compare the choice made by the main character in the short story to that of another main character in a previously read short story. Students choosing this activity must outline the similarities and differences in character traits of the two characters and explain how these character traits led to the decisions made when faced with a moral dilemma. Learning may be demonstrated through a written report with a venn diagram, a presentation or a rewrite of the ending with the main character making a different choice when facing the moral dilemma. The alternate ending must contain a choice that is substantiated by the character traits of the character.

Again, in each of these activities, students have been offered choices that meet their interests, their ability level, their preferred working style and their learning style. In addition, since all students are working on the same expectation, they will all be able to share and participate in class discussions and presentations.

Previous Section
Helpful Resources

Imprimer cette page | English

Exemple de leçons

Teach in Ontario

Activité de gestion de données, 6e année

La classe de M. Sirois fait un exercice de gestion de donnée. Les élèves doivent recueillir des données sur les jeux préférés de leurs camarades de classe, présenter les données sur un diagramme en bâtons et voir si les données représentent l’ensemble des élèves de l’école.

La classe de M. Soucy fait un exercice semblable. Toutefois, celui-ci leur présente des niveaux de difficulté différents, diverses options de travail d’équipe, des choix effectués en fonction des intérêts de ses élèves et leur offre diverses possibilités de faire la démonstration de leurs connaissances.

Pour le groupe d’élèves qui éprouve des difficultés à travailler avec un grand nombre de données complexes, M. Alcan a conçu une activité qui comprend des données maniables. Les élèves doivent questionner leurs camarades de classe pour trouver leur dessert favori, leur sport préféré ou une entreprise de souliers de sport. Ils ont la possibilité de travailler individuellement ou en petits groupes. Cependant, ils doivent choisir le type de graphique le plus approprié sur lequel présenter ces données. Ils doivent aussi voir si ces données représentent l’ensemble des élèves de l’école et expliquer leur raisonnement. Le rapport de leurs découvertes peut se prendre la forme d’une présentation, d’un rapport écrit ou d’un court débat.

Une autre activité a été conçue pour des élèves qui ont plus de facilité à travailler avec une série de données et un certain nombre de variables. Ceux qui choisissent cette activité doivent analyser les statistiques de la carrière d’un joueur de baseball ou de basketball et créer un graphique qui présente ces statistiques dans le temps. Les élèves peuvent travailler individuellement, par deux ou en petits groupes et doivent prédire les probabilités de succès du joueur pour la prochaine saison. Cette prédiction doit être appuyée par un raisonnement qui tient compte des facteurs susceptibles d’influencer les statistiques. Le rapport peut prendre la forme d’un document écrit, d’une discussion télévisée effectuée par un groupe d’analystes sportifs, d’une présentation visuelle ou d’un exposé.

Pour chacune de ces activités, l’enseignant permet aux élèves de faire des choix qui respectent leur niveau d’habileté, leur préférence de travail, leurs intérêts et leur style d’apprentissage. Tous les élèves travaillent en fonction d’un même objectif et ont tous la possibilité de participer aux discussions qui portent sur leurs découvertes.

Activité d’anglais de 11e année

Les élèves de la classe de 11e année de Mme Kirouac analysent des nouvelles. Mme Gouin conçoit des activités basées sur le choix du personnage principal de la nouvelle, au moment où il est confronté à un dilemme moral. Ses élèves présentent différents styles d’apprentissage, niveaux d’habileté et intérêts. Elle tient compte de toutes ces différences, lorsqu’elle conçoit des activités, et propose deux choix d’activités à sa classe.

La première activité demande aux élèves de décrire le dilemme moral auquel fait face le personnage principal de la nouvelle et la manière dont ce choix affecte le reste de l’histoire. Ceux qui choisissent cette activité doivent aussi expliquer comment les traits de caractère du personnage principal l’ont poussé à faire ce choix, en plus d’appuyer par des faits ces traits de caractère. La démonstration de l’apprentissage peut se faire sous forme de présentation, d’un rapport écrit ou d’une représentation artistique des connaissances.

La deuxième activité demande de décrire le dilemme moral auquel fait face le personnage principal, les traits de caractère qui l’amènent à prendre cette décision lorsqu’il fait face à ce dilemme, de même que l’influence qu’a ce choix sur le reste de l’histoire. De plus, les élèves doivent comparer la décision du personnage principal de cette nouvelle à la décision du personnage d’une autre nouvelle lue précédemment. Les élèves qui choisissent cette activité doivent souligner les similarités et les différences des traits de caractère des deux personnages et expliquer comment ces traits de caractère ont mené aux décisions prises au moment où ils ont fait face au dilemme moral. La démonstration de l’apprentissage peut se faire par un rapport écrit avec un diagramme d’Euler, une présentation ou une réécriture de la fin de l’histoire avec le personnage principal dont la décision diffère au moment où il fait face au dilemme en question. La solution de rechange doit contenir un choix appuyé par les traits de caractère du personnage.

Encore une fois, dans chacune de ces activités, les élèves ont la possibilité de faire des choix en fonction de leurs intérêts, leur niveau d’habileté, leur préférence de travail et leur style d’apprentissage. De plus, puisque tous les élèves ont les mêmes objectifs, ils pourront partager ensemble et participer aux discussions de groupe et aux présentations.

Section précédente
Ressources utiles