Print this page | Franšais

Setting the Stage

Teach in Ontario

Developing a positive learning environment begins on the first day of school. It is important to include your students in the development of this environment as much as possible. In this way, the students will take ownership of their learning environment.

The Physical Layout

The design of the classroom contributes to the welcoming feeling of the space. The room should be organized in a way that makes students enjoy being there. It should be bright and welcoming, with interesting and informative material on the walls. As the year progresses, student work should be displayed to celebrate effort and success.

The arrangement of the student desks can also contribute to a positive learning environment. Student desks should be arranged in a way that facilitates easy access to all students. This allows the teacher to interact regularly with students and to build relationships that are caring and informed. Seating arrangements that encourage the sharing of ideas contribute to the welcoming atmosphere of the classroom. Arranging the desks in groups or in a U-shape encourages student participation and discussion.

Cultivating a Sense of Community

Studies have shown that students with a clear sense of identity within the group will be confident and successful. As the classroom teacher, it is your job to build an environment that fosters a sense of belonging for each student in the class. This is a task that is most successful when undertaken with the involvement of the students.

The first step in creating a sense of community is to enthusiastically welcome the students to their new classroom. It is important that you demonstrate that you care about them and value their input. One way that you can demonstrate that their opinions are important to you is to brainstorm with your class about what community means to them. Based upon the results of this brainstorming, you and the students can develop the classroom expectations (or rules). When students are involved in this process, they tend to take ownership of the resulting expectations.

When developing the expectations of the class, be sure to phrase them in a positive way. The phrasing of the expectations will give positive suggestions for behaviour, rather than sounding dictatorial and teacher-generated.

As the classroom teacher, you can model and provide explicit instruction about:

Previous Section
Maintaining the Environment

Imprimer cette page | English

Préparation du terrain

Teach in Ontario

La création d’un contexte d’apprentissage positif commence dès le premier jour d’école. Il est important d’intégrer les élèves dans le processus de création d’un tel contexte, autant que possible. De cette façon, ils se sentiront en quelque sorte responsables du climat d’apprentissage.

Aménagement de l’espace

Une classe bien aménagée tend à rendre l’espace invitant. En effet, une salle bien organisée, illuminée et invitante, aux murs décorés de matériel intéressant et informatif, motive les élèves à s’y réunir. Au cours de l’année, les réalisations des élèves peuvent ainsi être affichées au mur pour souligner leurs efforts et leurs succès.

L’aménagement de leur bureau peut aussi contribuer à améliorer le contexte d’apprentissage. Disposer les bureaux des élèves de façon à faciliter l’accès à tous permettra au personnel enseignant d’interagir régulièrement avec eux et de créer des relations interpersonnelles. Un aménagement qui encourage le partage d’idées rend le climat de la classe invitant. Le fait de disposer les sièges en groupes ou en U stimule la participation des élèves et favorise la discussion.

Sentiment d’appartenance au groupe

Des études montrent que les élèves, dont la notion d’identité est bien définie au sein du groupe, sont plus confiants et réussissent mieux. La tâche revient donc à l’enseignante ou à l’enseignant suppléant, tout comme au titulaire de classe, de veiller à ce que le climat favorise le sentiment d’appartenance chez tous les élèves du groupe. Lorsqu’il tient compte de la participation des élèves, ce rôle a davantage de chance de réussir.

Pour créer un sentiment d’appartenance au groupe, la première étape consiste à inviter les élèves avec enthousiasme dans leur nouvelle classe. Il est important de leur manifester de l’intérêt et de souligner leur participation. Un exemple qui consiste à leur démontrer que leurs opinions sont importantes est de les inviter à faire un remue-méninge en groupe sur ce que signifie l’esprit d’équipe. En fonction des résultats, vous pouvez créer ensemble les attentes ou les règles du déroulement de la classe. Lorsque les élèves participent à ce processus, ils ont tendance à prendre plus au sérieux les résultats attendus.

Au moment de l’expression des attentes, assurez-vous d’encourager les élèves à s’exprimer de façon positive. En effet, le choix des mots fera émerger des suggestions positives quant à l’attitude à adopter, plutôt que de sembler autoritaires ou dictées par l’enseignante ou l’enseignant.

Comme le fait le titulaire de classe, vous pouvez proposer des directives claires sur :

Section précédente
Entretien du climat