what is teach in ontario about ontario's schools become a teacher in ontario help and contact

   About Teach in Ontario
  
   
  
   
   
   
   

   
    



Teach in Ontario provided services for internationally educated teachers (IETs) wishing to re-establish their teaching careers in Ontario. The project was a partnership among LASI World Skills, the Ontario College of Teachers, the Ontario Teachers’ Federation and Windsor Women Working With Immigrant Women.

Teach in Ontario provided services for IETs from 2004 to 2009. In the beginning of the project, the most pressing needs of IETs were addressed; navigating the certification process and gaining a deeper understanding of the education system and teaching practices in Ontario. The initial services provided were:

  • Information and counselling about the certification process and preparing for employment in Ontario;
  • Assistance with document retrieval;
  • Teaching-specific language upgrading courses; and
  • A six-week employment preparation course that provided an overview of the education system, the role of the teacher and the job search and application process.
 

Participant feedback about the services was positive. However, both participants and employers indicated that there was a need for an even deeper understanding of the role of the teacher, information about strategies for successful occasional teaching and opportunities to gain some Ontario classroom experience.

Teach in Ontario responded to these needs by introducing the following additional services in 2006:

  • A Classroom Immersion Module that offered a two-week placement in a classroom under the guidance of an experienced educator, with some teaching responsibilities;
  • A Professional Coaching Module that provided a six-month mentoring relationship with an experienced educator; and
  • An Occasional Teaching Workshop that prepared IETs for this unique employment situation.

Service participants felt that they had gained a greater understanding of the role of the teacher and greater comfort with the school culture in Ontario. Feedback from employers noted a significant improvement in the performance of IETs at interviews, but it was felt that a deeper understanding of the role of teachers, the foundations of professional practice and workplace culture was still required.

In response to this employer feedback, Teach in Ontario developed an orientation course, in partnership with the Ontario Public Supervisory Officers’ Association (OPSOA) and the Toronto District School Board (TDSB). Since knowledge and understanding of Ontario’s education model is best imparted by those who work in the system, experienced former principals were hired to deliver the course in communities across Ontario in partnership with local school boards.

Course participants reported improved understanding of the role of the teacher in Ontario and increased confidence in their ability to successfully transition into the profession in their new country. Many participants went on to obtain teaching employment contracts.

Before the creation of Teach in Ontario, internationally educated teachers were frustrated by the seemingly complex certification and employment preparation processes. Now, five years later, many of the barriers to certification and employment for IETs have been alleviated as a result of the work of Teach in Ontario and its partners.

Le Projet
   
   
   
   
   

   
    



Enseigner en Ontario a fourni des services aux enseignantes et enseignants formés à l’étranger dans le but de les aider à poursuivre leur carrière en Ontario. Le projet a été réalisé en partenariat avec LASI Compétences Mondiales, l’Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario, la Fédération des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario et Windsor Women Working with Immigrant Women.

Enseigner en Ontario a offert ses services aux enseignantes et enseignants formés à l’étranger de 2004 à 2009. Au tout début, le projet a répondu aux besoins les plus pressants des enseignantes et des enseignants formés à l’étranger, notamment en les accompagnant dans le processus de certification et en les aidant à mieux comprendre le système d’éducation et les pratiques d’enseignement en Ontario. Les premiers services consistaient à :

  • les renseigner et les conseiller relativement au processus de certification et les préparer à occuper un emploi en Ontario;
  • les assister dans la recherche documentaire;
  • leur offrir des cours d’actualisation de la langue, propre à l’enseignement;
  • leur présenter un cours de préparation à l’emploi de six semaines, lequel leur donnait un aperçu du système d’éducation, du rôle de l’enseignant, de la recherche d’emploi et du processus de demande d’emploi.

Les participants ont émis des commentaires positifs au sujet de ces services. Toutefois, les enseignantes et enseignants formés à l’étranger, de même que les employeurs, ont souligné l’importance de mieux comprendre le rôle de l’enseignant, d’obtenir de l’information au sujet des stratégies efficaces en suppléance et de gagner de l’expérience dans les salles de classe en Ontario.

En 2006, Enseigner en Ontario a répondu à un besoin en ajoutant d’autres services, soit :

  • un module d’immersion en classe d’une durée de deux semaines, incluant certaines responsabilités d’enseignement, sous la surveillance d’un éducateur d’expérience;
  • un module d’enseignement professionnel comportant un mentorat d’une durée de six mois avec un éducateur d’expérience;
  • un atelier de suppléance pour préparer les enseignants formés à l’étranger à cette situation particulière d’emploi.

Les commentaires au sujet de ces services furent extrêmement positifs. Les participants ont eu le sentiment d’acquérir une meilleure compréhension du rôle de l’enseignant, ainsi qu’une plus grande aisance avec la culture scolaire en Ontario. Les employeurs, quant à eux, ont perçu une nette amélioration dans la prestation d’entrevue des participants, mais ont senti l’importance d’accroître davantage leur compréhension du rôle des enseignants et de leur montrer les bases de l’exercice professionnel et de la culture en milieu de travail.

Dans le but de répondre à ce besoin, Enseigner en Ontario a mis sur pieds un cours d’orientation en partenariat avec l’Ontario Public Supervisory Officers’ Association (OPSOA) et le conseil scolaire de district de Toronto. Puisque la connaissance et la compréhension du modèle d’éducation en Ontario se transmettent mieux par ceux et celles qui travaillent dans le système, d’anciens directeurs d’expérience ont été embauchés pour donner un cours dans les communautés de tout l’Ontario, en partenariat avec les conseils scolaires.

À la fin des cours, les participantes et les participants ont fait preuve d’une plus grande confiance en soi et ont renouvelé leur passion et leur enthousiasme pour l’enseignement, en Ontario. Leurs commentaires se sont révélés extrêmement positifs et la séance de groupe de consultation qui s’est tenue le dernier jour du projet a permis de recueillir leur opinion et leurs suggestions en vue d’améliorer le cours. Ainsi, bon nombre de participants ont réussi à obtenir des contrats d’emploi en enseignement.

Avant la création de Enseigner en Ontario, les enseignants formés à l’étranger considéraient l’apparente complexité de la certification et des processus de préparation à l’emploi plutôt frustrante. Aujourd’hui, cinq ans plus tard, de nombreux obstacles à la certification et à l’embauche ont été surmontés, grâce au travail de Enseigner en Ontario et ses partenaires.